Yate Town Council welcomes comments from the members of the public on any issue. You can either contact your local Councillor or Council Staff directly (contact details below), contact the Town Council, or attend a Full Council meeting and speak during the public participation session.

Table Of Contents

Mayor of Yate

At the Annual Town Council meeting held on Tuesday 14th May 2019, Councillor Karl Tomasin was elected as Mayor and Chair of Yate Town Council, with the position of Vice-Chair and Deputy Town Mayor passing to Councillor Cheryl Kirby.

Mayor Karl Tomasin
Mayor Karl Tomasin

Councillor Tomasin gave a vote of thanks to Councillor Ford for his excellent work and his great support of Yate during his time as Chair of Yate Town Council and Mayor of Yate.

Councillor Tomasin added “I consider it a great privilege that I have been elected to lead the council over the next couple of years.

I’m looking forward to the many challenges and new opportunities that may come along over the next few years.  We currently have many projects which are at various stages of completion, which we are eager to move to a conclusion in order to benefit our residents.

Fortunately, I am not on my own and with the excellent and strong support from our staff, fellow councillors and the local community, together we can achieve this.”


Yate Town Council has 17 elected members who represent the people of the town. All Town Councillors are governed by a Code of Conduct, which ensures that high standards are maintained.

yate councillors 2019
Yate Town Councillors

Councillors for Yate Central Ward

You can contact any of the councillors below via the Council contact page.

John Emms
01454 314139
42 Clayfield,
Yate, Bristol
BS37 7HU

John Gawn
01454 880674
99 Stanshawe Crescent,
Yate, Bristol
BS37 4EF

John Serle
01454 312169
27 Goose Green,
Yate, Bristol
BS37 5BL

John Ford
01454 311632
13 Argyle Drive,
Yate, Bristol
BS37 5TZ

Margaret Marshall
01454 315750
18 Stanshawe Crescent,
Yate, Bristol
BS37 4EB

Penny Thoyts
01454 851520
5 Lydbrook Close,
Yate, Bristol,
BS37 4HS

Councillors for Yate South Ward

Tony Davis
01454 881495
11 Lydbrook Close,
Yate, Bristol
BS37 4HS

Cheryl Kirby – VICE
01454 856495
213 Dovecote,
Yate, Bristol,
BS37 4PF

Councillors for Yate North Ward

John Davis
01454 864412
22 Longford
Yate, Bristol
BS37 4HS

Sandra Emms
01454 314139
42 Clayfield,
Yate, Bristol
BS37 7HU

Ben Nutland
58 Dorset Way,
Yate, Bristol
BS37 7SP

Jane Price
25 The Brake
Yate, Bristol
BS37 7QW

Chris Willmore
01454 311777
3 Churchfarm Close,
Yate, Bristol
BS37 5BZ

Mike Drew
01454 311777
3 Churchfarm Close,
Yate, Bristol
BS37 5BZ

Alan Monaghan
01454 881251
13 Homefield,
Yate, Bristol
BS37 5US

Wully Perks
01454 313907
46 Somerset Avenue,
Yate, Bristol
BS37 7SQ

Karl Tomasin – MAYOR
07828 984099
37 Chichester Way
Yate, Bristol
BS37 5TB

Council Staff

If you have any problems or enquiries which are relevant to Town Council staff, then our list of staff names, positions and contact details will help.

If the person you wish to contact does not have contact details published then please contact the Town Council here.

Many of Yate Town Council’s staff work from the town council office at Poole Court, Yate,  there are also caretakers, estates people and cleaners who work across the town.

To view the Yate Town Council Staff Structure chart, please click here.

Town Clerk & Deputy Town Clerk

You can email the Town Clerk & Deputy Town Clerk directly via our contact form.

Town ClerkHayley Townsend01454 866510
Deputy Town ClerkJulia Alden01454 866509

Service Support Team 

You can email individual council staff here.

Service Support ManagerJulia Alden01454 866509
Service Support Officer Vacancy01454 866506
Service Support AssistantKaren Harris01454 866508
Service Support AssistantJeanette Cryer01454 866506
Office ApprenticeKezi Cerrone01454 866506

Finance Team

You can email individual council staff here.

Responsible Finance Officer & Finance Manager                   Paul Carroll 01454 866510        
Deputy Responsible Finance OfficerCatherine Demmery01454 866507
Finance AssistantJulie Westcott01454 866511
Finance Assistant Becky Gunter 01454 866251
Finance Assistant Vacancy01454 866251

Estates Team

Estates ManagerPhil Jones
Estates SupervisorRob Noble
Estates PersonTom Edge
Estates PersonAdam Hill
Estates PersonTim Goodfield
Estates PersonHarry Thomas
Estates PersonJoe Hackett
Estates ApprenticeLuke Firstbrook
Estates Site CleanerNigel Slade
Estates Site CleanerShaun Jankovic
Resident Caretaker – Poole CourtTom Kott

Community Projects Team

You can email individual council staff here.

Community Projects Manager Leah Collier   01454 866512 
Community Projects ManagerLori Ramsay01454 866512
Community Projects OfficerSally Johnston01454 866512
Community Projects Apprentice Ashleigh Porton01454 869441

Yate Heritage Centre Staff

You can email individual council staff here.

Community Heritage OfficerDavid Hardill01454862200
Heritage Education AssistantVacancy01454 862200

Armadillo Youth Cafe and Venue Staff

To contact the Armadillo please call 01454 869441 or email [email protected]     

Venues Operations Officer                Carene Whiting-Hays                             
Youth OfficerJune Yeoman
Venues Operations Assistant Stephanie Thorne
Venue AssistantKelly Rogers
Youth Co-ordinatorJodi Soper
Youth Co-ordinatorNiall Farnan
Venue AssistantJacqui Wardle
Venue AssistantHolly Payne
Venue AssistantGeorgia Andrews
Venue AssistantJo Lovell
Venue AssistantSuzanne Carter
Venue AssistantKade Pogose
Venue Assistant in TrainingVacancy

Scroll to Top